PharmExec Blog

Freda Lewis-Hall Named HBA Woman of the Year 2011

Lewis-Hall_Freda_webFreda Lewis-Hall, MD, chief medical officer of Pfizer has been named 2011 Woman of the Year (WOTY) by the Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association (HBA).

In her 30-year career, Dr. Lewis-Hall has held leadership roles in direct patient care, academics, media, government, pharmaceuticals, and biotechnology.

Among her most recent achievements, in September 2010, Dr. Lewis-Hall was appointed by the Government Accountability Office of the United States to the inaugural Board of Governors for the new Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).

Lewis-Hall’s background and record as well as her management and leadership approaches will be the subject of a feature-length profile in the April print issue of Pharmaceutical Executive.

Dr. Lewis-Hall will be honored at the HBA’s 22nd annual Woman of the Year Luncheon on Thursday, May 5, at the Hilton New York.

The HBA’s criteria for selecting Woman of the Year includes success in the healthcare industry, strong leadership capabilities, proven mentoring skills, dedication, a commitment to giving back to women, and contributions to the community.

“The HBA WOTY selection committee had never before received a nomination package like the one in support of Freda. She had a total of 90 nominations,” says Toni Hoover, Ph.D., Site Director, Groton/New London Laboratories, Pfizer Worldwide Research and Development. “Freda has been a staunch advocate for eliminating healthcare disparities in traditionally underrepresented communities, the advancement of women across the healthcare industry, as well being a committed mentor to many women and people of color.”

This entry was posted in Strategy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Categories

  • Meta